In today’s post, I have chosen to repost an article by Lee Taft.  I think it goes along perfectly with what we have been talking about the last couple of posts.  He posted this on Facebook a week or so ago and I thought it was so good I asked him if I could repost it on my blog.  For those of you who don’t know Lee, you need to get to know him and read his posts on Facebook.  He is, in my mind, the best speed and agility guy out there.  I have been fortunate enough to sit and talk to him for hours (literally) and his knowledge in this area is unsurpassed.

You can find him at:  http://leetaft.com

or friend him on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/thespeedguy?fref=ts 

Over the past years i have been blessed to visit colleges and spend time with their strength staff working on multi-directional speed concepts, strategies, and techniques. We have had great success in building successful approaches.

The area I have wanted to impact at the college level is the Physical Education, Exercises Science, Health and wellness, Physical Therapy, and other movement related fields. I feel each college student needs to take a 101 course in multi-directional speed movement concepts and implementation (The why’s, how’s…). There is so much mis-information out there on correct movement principles.

If physical education teachers really understood multi-directional speed techniques think how they could impact the quality of movement in our young kids. They could help reduce the potential for ACL and other injuries. They could improve overall confidence that is presently low in children who don’t have good movement abilities.

Just in the past few weeks coaches I know have lost players to non-contact ACL injuries- doesn’t need to happen! In the past few weeks I have watch many high school and younger basketball games and see such poor movement quality- doesn’t need to be this way.

I want to see a change happen through the masses. This can only happen if the people who have contact with kids most often understand this. I know PE is foolishly being cut in many schools but PE teachers are trained to handle groups and organize lessons. If each day kids were being taught the foundations of movement and this extended throughout the time they were in school- we would see so much more quality in movement.

We also need to educate parents, youth coaches, and all involved in working with kids. Movement is that important! It makes people feel empowered and able to accomplish tasked with grace and control. We either move or we die! Let’s improve the quality of our movement in sport, exercise, and daily living.

Change is coming!

